Writing & Writers Groups

killaSo I’ve now joined a couple of writers’ groups that I’ve found on meetup.com. The first one meets next Tuesday and the other meets a couple of weeks after that. Why two groups? Well, for a couple of reasons.
The first is I need to make some friends that live in the same county and have some of the same interests as I do. I moved to St. Petersburg, FL about 5 years ago and with a young daughter, I didn’t have the time to go out and make friends outside of work and family. I hope to connect with at least a couple of people I meet.
I also hope that more than one group will give me a larger variety of readers to give me feedback on my novel. The first group I joined are romance writers. They are a new group and this will be the first meeting. The benefit of a new group is they have lots of energy and excitement. If we develop good habits early, we can form a good resource for our writing.
The second group I’ve joined is a large group with many experienced authors, editors and writers. They are large enough now that new members must submit a sample of writing and be approved. I expect this group to be brutally honest with their critiques. I also expect to find more aid with queries, synopsis, agent searches and publishing from the more experienced group.
I do not write only for my own pleasure. The ultimate goal of writing a novel is for it to be read by others. So it would be foolish to write in a vacuum, with no other input, praise or criticism to help me find my voice. Without readers, I’m just whispering my story, alone in the dark. (They call that crazy).

Published by: assassingrl

I'm just your average marketing goddess who does some freelance writing on the side. Or am I? What if I'm really a hired killer? You don't have anything to worry about unless you are an evil villain, above the reach of the usual law and order types. You know the kind, with enough money and influence to buy their way out of any legal repercussions. That's when the organization I work for steps in. You won't find us in any federal government directory. We're one of those groups that get the conspiracy theorists all hot and bothered. This could just be the plot of a novel I'm working on. Then again...

Categories Writing