Why call atheism a religion…

It seems the big ‘insult’ from theists is to say, “But atheism is a religion, too.” And this gets atheists ruffled up and fighting amongst themselves over whether atheists “don’t believe in any gods” or “believe there are no gods.”

The semantics of the whole argument distract us from the tactic itself. The claim makes it sound like the theists are agreeing that religion is a bad thing. They may just be attempting to make a point that atheists are hypocritical. But whether some people define religion as a ‘belief system’ or whether it has to have some supernatural element, I think that when the ‘atheism is a religion’ argument is thrown into the mix, that’s the time to pull back and simply say,

“Well that’s not my definition of religion, but even if it were, so what? It has no bearing on whether or not a god exists.”

Myself…I’m thinking about becoming a High Priestess in the Church of the Everlasting Atheist and demanding all my tax exemptions.

Published by: assassingrl

I'm just your average marketing goddess who does some freelance writing on the side. Or am I? What if I'm really a hired killer? You don't have anything to worry about unless you are an evil villain, above the reach of the usual law and order types. You know the kind, with enough money and influence to buy their way out of any legal repercussions. That's when the organization I work for steps in. You won't find us in any federal government directory. We're one of those groups that get the conspiracy theorists all hot and bothered. This could just be the plot of a novel I'm working on. Then again...

Categories TwitterTags, 9 Comments

9 thoughts on “Why call atheism a religion…”

  1. For the sake of avoiding a never ending stream of repetitive arguments from david99999 I have decided to no longer approve any of his comments that are simply a rehash of the old ‘you atheists must believe in God or you wouldn’t complain about him so much.’ Repetition is not debate. Especially endless repetition of weak logical fallacies that have been answered by atheists and philosophers ad nauseam. If at any time David wishes to post a legitimate question about why I do not believe in his deity, I will gladly approve the comment. If at any time David posts an argument that is not a condescending load of psychobabble claiming that I don’t really believe what I say I believe, then I will gladly post that comment and respond. But if all you have is “You really believe in god, you’re just mad, confused, insane, going through a phase, rebellious etc.., etc., etc. .” I’m not going to bore my readers with juvenile arguments they have all heard before.

  2. The studies I’ve read on prayer say the exact opposite. FYI: Prayer and meditation have been proven to relieve stress — thereby, improving blood flow to – among other places – the brain. The result has been improved and speedier healing.

    1. That is not intercessory prayer. Prayer for your own health can have the same type of effect that meditation or non-religious mental imaging or self hypnosis activities. That does not prove that there is actually a god answering the prayers. Studies on intercessory prayer-where people are praying for the recovery of others- have shown that there is not even a placebo effect for those that know that they are being prayed for. In fact, cardiac patients that knew someone was praying for them, had significantly MORE complications than those that were not prayed for or those that did not know they were being prayed for. These are the types of studies that prove that there is no being answering prayers. If you are praying only for yourself, then your own mental activities can have some effect on your body. That does nothing to show an outside action of a deity.

    1. Opinions are just opinions. Redefining the word ‘god’ to make it include everything doesn’t make it really mean that. As for prayer…Your twitter profile says that you are interested in science. I would suggest you look at the most recent scientific research into the efficacy of intercessory prayer. You will find that the studies show that prayer has no effect. In fact patients that knew they were being prayed for actually had more complications in the study.

      1. You are very obsessed with your point-of-view. Judging from your username, “assassin girl,” I would say that you have major emotional frustrations. Though, you may not realize it…there is a little seriousness in every joke. Physically harming someone is a very serious concept.

        Anti-theists have anger issues. Why else, would they lash out so vehemently at theism? The fact that you “unfollowed” me immediately following our initial debate, demonstrates a lack of tolerance in you, of the opinions of others. The fact that your childhood experience with organized religion bored you, should not prevent you from being able to tolerate points-of-view which may happen to vary from your own. I sense that you are very young — and, as your screen name implies — more of a girl than a woman.

      2. First of all, if you had bothered to visit my website or find out anything about me, the moniker “AssassinGrl” refers to a character in a book that I am writing. So your pop-psychology quackery doesn’t hold up.

        As for why atheists and anti-theists ‘lash out’ at theism, that is a backlash against theists that either want to legislate their beliefs or condescendingly pray for us. You can talk to your invisible friend all you want. Leave me out of the conversation.

        You are confused about twitter. Unfollowing and Blocking are not the same thing. I did not block you. I merely unfollowed you. This means I can still see your tweets to me and you can still see all of my tweets. I unfollowed you because I don’t follow people that condescend to me. I follow a large number of believers on twitter. In fact more than half the people I follow believe in some sort of deity. The difference between them and you is that they don’t tell me that I’m a narcissist for not believing that an invisible, all powerful, all knowing entity designed an entire universe just for me and a few other special people who are the only ones in the universe that really understand what it is that he wants.

        As for my age, perhaps you should have read a few of my tweets before following. I have a 17 yr old daughter. I did not have her at a young age (in fact I was almost 30 when she was born). You do the math.

        My only frustrations are when condescending, passive aggressive theists think that I couldn’t possibly have just looked objectively at the evidence and decided that there was no credible proof of the existence of their god or any other. I have no problem accepting (the word tolerating only shows your arrogance) that others have views that I don’t agree with. I’m fine with others views only until they try to tell me that I should speak to a priest about my obvious confusion. Or until they try to use their religion to claim people should not be able to marry the person they love or have autonomy over their own bodies.

  3. I think it’s something faced more by the ‘new atheists.’ And I believe some of it may be a reaction to suddenly being faced with atheists that aren’t afraid to speak their minds. Many theists aren’t used to having their world view challenged because for years atheists were quiet about their disbelief. Truthfully, the only time we have needed to make an issue of skepticism is in times like this when the extreme fundamentalists try to force their religion into public policy.

  4. I think it’s more to do with saying, “You’re acting just like they are!” I get that all the time for any skeptical remarks I might make about religion. “You’re just as bad as the pope for…taking a position!”

    Apparently the solution is…not to take any position, ever, for fear of being labelled “dogmatic.” That doesn’t even make sense. But it keeps friends.

Comments are closed.